Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:23 p.m. - 2002-08-04
political rant #1
Okay, so, I guess I just hang out too much with left-wing intellectuals or something, because apparently it is way out of line with mainstream thought to think that:

a) 3,000 people being murdered and two ugly skyscrapers being blown up is not the worst thing that's ever happened

and,

b) that it is blowing things just a little bit out of proportion to use this 3,000-person murder as the end justification for invading Iraq.

Can we talk about misplaced cause and effect? Can we talk about shortsightedness? Can we talk about the still-unresolved chaos and vast human suffering that's been brought on by the American policy regarding Iraq in the last ten years? Can we, maybe just maybe, discuss our own culpability, our own past mistakes? And, stretch of stretches, can we talk about changing our behavior in the future so nobody has a compelling reason to ram airplanes into ugly skyscrapers and murder thousands of people?

No, we can't. Because then we would "obviously not know what happened on September 11."

I swear to god. This whole planet is going to Hell in a Made-In-America handbasket, and those few people willing to take responsibility for this fact are tremendously proud of it.

I'm coming to understand why so many left-wingers settled on preaching to the converted years ago. Criminy.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!