Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:28 a.m. - 2003-10-23
i'm a bluebird, i'm a bluebird
so, i have a hypothetically possible, time-not-yet-specified, non-romantic date tomorrow.

ack, phone.

oooooh. phone was in reference to the date. she sounded excited! and she's sooooo interesting. and an incredible writer. and i think we will be able to carry on a conversation in person which is very comforting. and we're going to be eating really damn good food! by my standards anyhow.

i'm so excited i can barely cut and paste in today's song of the day! a short one to keep you guessin'. and then i'm gonna eat a bagel and write in my for-real journal about the date.

***

Song: Clap For The Wolfman

Artist: The Guess Who

Album: Road Food

Sample Lyric: "I said 'you're what I've been dreaming of' / She said 'I don't want to know'"

Ampresands (out of 5): & & & &

While not utterly obscure (I'm pretty sure this is on a few of their greatest hits compilations), "Clap For The Wolfman" definitely hasn't gotten the airplay of, say, "American Woman" or "No Time." The reason for this is probably mainly due to the fact that those other songs are much better and more rocking. But "Clap For The Wolfman" has a tremendous charm, thanks to its unique premise: a guy wants to pick up a girl, but she gives him the cold shoulder while focusing all her attention on to the Wolfman Jack's radio program. To add insult to injury, the Wolfman himself (a famous syndicated DJ of the times, if you weren't aware) actually guests on the track to make such boasts as, "You thought she was diggin' you, but she was diggin' me! Ha ha ha!" The chorus doesn't really relate to the plot of the song, but it does feature hand-claps to go along with the "clap for the Wolfman" idea, and those are always good. Overall, the song's a great addition to any classic rock oddities playlist.

***

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!