Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:41 p.m. - 2004-06-04
bank cashier, engineer
So for a couple years now I've had a job in a bureaucracy that barely recognizes me, let alone trusts me with any responsibilities. And yeah, that's annoying. But it has some interesting side effects. A lot of these revolve around the cash register. Actual physical money, ie cash and hard currency, is sacred. I'm not allowed to make certain kinds of internal changing maneuvers unsupervised - heck, they don't even let me *count* the money. This means that in the event of a snafu, all my efforts have to bend around the inviolable personal space of the cash register. Just now, a customer had a machine eat thirty cents that belonged to her. I gave her thirty cents out of the register - but now things are out of balance . To resolve this, I have her use a machine where you pay at the register, rather than by putting coins into the machine. Then when she's all done, I charge her for the seventy cents worth of copies she's made, but I only input four of these into the cash register . The lost thirty cents are now recovered, the register will balance at the end of the day, and I've done a very good job by way of shorting the library three copies' worth of money - transmuting the lost physical money into lost revenue from copies that are now as good as fictional.

I dunno, I get a kick out of this for some reason. Maybe it's because I'm still in a fog from the septic, choking sensation in the back of my mouth that makes me feel all around gross at all times.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!