Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:56 p.m. - 2004-10-11
scarf it down, one way needle
I had considered the disappearance of my beloved first-ever-crocheted purple scarf back in March or April to be something of a cold case. The case was made even colder by how hot it was outside; in the summertime you hardly want a scarf. Also, I had another one. But, anyway, I walked into Agora yesterday and there was my scarf in amidst somebody's groovy goods, for $7. What the hell? It's totally worth more than $7, but more to the point, it's mine.

With the aid of the person cashiering, I tracked down the person selling the scarf (Agora is a consignment store) and left her a confusing message about my situation. She left me a return message last night in which her general tone seemed to be "Uh, okayyyyy", a mix of suspicion and amusement. She claims that the scarf was not found by her, but was in fact GIVEN to her.

The plot thickens. Did someone find my scarf and then pretend they picked it out as a kindly gift for this Karen woman, who in turn coldly decided to sell it off, for an absurdly low price so as to get rid of it before the giver noticed it was for sale? It's all too much to sort through. Mostly I want my scarf back, but I'm not quite willing to pay $7 for it even though it means about fifty times that much to me. I've got them holding it behind the counter - this should buy me time to sort through this mystery.

I haven't been writing in this thing much lately, for several reasons. One is that my new habit of writing with correct capitalization makes me feel much more self-conscious, and when I read it back over it sounds like I'm Matt Grove or somebody. Also, I'm not very clever anymore. Meanwhile I have other things to work on, like taking out the trash and drawing brilliant comics. I've worked out the second two parts of this initial Treasure Hunter arc in my head, so when I finish inking issue one, I'll have somewhere to actually go.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!