Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:16 a.m. - 2004-10-12
-
I wonder if Slog Dog means that maybe I read her journal, or maybe I'm a functional member of society.

Today at work I had my longest sustained half-broken-English, half-broken-Spanish conversation yet with Jose the dishwasher. While he displays an awful temper at times, it's nice to talk about such things as his family and feel like I'm actually getting somewhere. Apparently he is taking English classes through the church, the main impetus being that his 2-year-old daughter, in this country four months, is already speaking primarily English around the house. Already the seeds are sown for a "conflict between generations of immigrants" story a la the Joy Luck Club. Only with El Salvador instead of China.

New character idea: the Indivisible Man, who for some reason has the power to never be cut into pieces. I think I will pair him with Russell Q Allen, Treasure Hunter, on some adventure when the latter needs to navigate a dungeon filled with "swinging, slicing blade" type traps. The Indivisible Man will block these things. ???

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!