Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:13 p.m. - 2010-10-10
k-log
for benefit of lil' bit and sister bone's jealousy (?), here are the karaoke songs i have sung since the last europe trip:

07/30: ODB, Brooklyn Zoo
07/30: something else i didn't write down?
08/08: Matthew Wilder, Break My Stride
08/15: Billy Joel, We Didn't Start The Fire
08/15: Katy Perry feat Snoop Dogg, California Gurls
08/15: Grease soundtrack, Summer Days Summer Nights (with Nightmary & Angelaria)
08/29: Stampeders, Sweet City Woman
08/29: Jason Derulo, Ridin' Solo
08/31: Positive K, I Got A Man
09/05: Steve Winwood, Valerie
09/07: Doobie Brothers, Takin' It To The Streets
09/07: Camper Van Beethoven, Take The Skinheads Bowling
09/14: George Michael & Elton John, Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me
09/14: Roxette, Joyride
09/14: Third Eye Blind, Semi-Charmed Life
09/18: Stampeders, Sweet City Woman
09/19: Bobby Lewis, Tossin' and Turnin'
09/21: Clarence 'Frogman' Henry, Ain't Got No Home
09/21: The Sweet, Ballroom Blitz
09/26: Sugar Ray, Fly
09/26: Alanis Morissette, You Learn
10/03: Beyonce, Irreplaceable
10/03: Elton John, Honky Cat
10/05: Fountains of Wayne, Stacy's Mom

Notes:

1. The second "Sweet City Woman" was at an outdoor street festival; Karaoke Dave didn't have the song binders but he was able to look through my recent song history, and suggested this. "Sweet City Woman" is really fun to sing though. Lot of different parts, the chorus is a blast, plus it may be the only hit song to ever use the word "macaroons."

2. I think the best received of these was either "Fly," or "I Got A Man," which one guy was deliriously happy about although nobody else cared. "Fly" is pretty great because they have all the Supercat toasting going on in the background although it's your instinct to do it yourself. They do not, however, include the "rock" section in the middle where he really tears it up. This sort of dulls up the song, but not as bad as what happens to "Semi-Charmed Life" (see below). Really, "Fly" is all about waiting for the part where he cries out "ALL AROUND THE WOOOOORLD!"

3. Nobody in this crowd knows about Jason Derulo.

4. "Tossin' and Turnin'" was fun - I should do more old-timey rock and roll songs.

5. Do not ever do "Semi-Charmed Life," and let me tell you why: no matter how many times it is listed in the karaoke book and no matter which karaoke manufacturer recorded it, it is always the short radio edit. You are missing the entire middle of the song! You know, all of this stuff:

AND WHEN THE PLANE CAME IN!
she said she was craSHIN
The velvet it rips in the city,
we tripped on the urge to feel a-live
Now-I'm-strugglin'-to-survive, those days you were wearing that velvet dress
You're the priestess, I must confess
Those little red panties they pass the test
Slide up around the belly,
face down on the mattress
One:
And you hold me,
and we're broken
STILL IT'S ALL THAT! I WANNA DO!
JUST A LITTLE NOW!
Feel myself, heavy on the ground
I'm scared! I'm not coming down!
No, no
And I won't run for my life!!
She's got her jaws now, locked down in a smile
But nothing is all right
Aw wiiight

I mean, why even bother, right? It's still an okay song but it is missing what some ILXor referred to as its "epic, Born To Run" vibe. And, as with Fly, it sort of boils things down to some verses and the chorus, which is just more boring to sing. I saw someone else sing this a week or so later, and like me, they were all set to belt out "AND WHEN THE PLANE CAME IN!" and were totally taken off guard with the awkward jump-cut to the chorus, which they practically just got done singing.

6. "Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me" was the mystery song and I won $80 for singing it. I have a strong suspicion the current mystery song is "Crazy In Love" but I don't really know the Beyonce part that well and nobody else feels confident enough to do it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!