Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:54 a.m. - 2003-09-07
like a dog or like a ...bruise
woohoo, best saturday in recent memory. i don't think i've had quite as many laughs per square day ever - and in the company of so many different people at so many different times! plus, the weather turned suddenly cool, and that was really refreshing.

the orange cross and jza jza will both approve i think - i bought new pants. they aren't 'girl jeans' but they're not cargos, and they were a dollar. i just have to find the right shirt to go with them. after i do my laundry tomorrow, i will have a clothes-testing party to see what goes with these pants the best. i'm thinking perhaps the shirt with the long history and the links to terrorism. also, the shirt of rumor. i love that i can come up with really stupid code to refer even to specific shirts that i own. this amuses me.

other news: i dreamed last night that the terrifying giant 'lubber' grasshoppers of our neighborhood had been fused (by science? magic? coincidence?) with yellow-jacket brand bees/wasps. so they were the size and general configuration of lubbers - only they could fly and sting you!! jesus christ!! i clawed myself back to wakefulness, unable to breath in my dream and heart racing once i found the bed underneath me. it felt like a very long time before i remembered how to make my lungs work, and although it was probably only a few seconds in reality, i was deathly afraid that this would be the end for me.

anyway, i'll close by relating the fact that the lubber/yellowjackets remind me of the scene in "BATS" where they ask the evil scientist why on earth he would use genetic programming to create a race of unspeakable murderous bats, and he says,

"I'm a scientist. It's what we do."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!